Timeline Breakdown- The New Jedi Order!


Staff member
Aug 21, 2021
Reaction score
Welcome, Rebelscum fans! This week we’re covering The New Jedi Order book series on the site, so make sure to check out our base "Expand Your Mind" article that explains the series’ history, its importance within Legends, and the coolest collectibles you’ll want to add. Our “Character Profile” article will spotlight some of the most popular Legends characters of all-time and with “Force Casting” we’ll fan cast some of our favorite characters. Make sure to subscribe to our YouTube channel to see Bobby’s videos covering the subject.

In our “Timeline Breakdown” section today, we’ll be exploring how The New Jedi Order fits within the canon of Star Wars Legends. The world of the Expanded Universes’ post-Return of the Jedi material can get kind of confusing, especially to new readers who didn’t follow these storylines during their release. We’ll break down where The New Jedi Order falls and how it connects to the other material.

Obviously these are all non-canon now, but that doesn’t mean they’re not great storylines worth investing in. Also, we won’t be mentioning every post-Return of the Jedi project. There’s simply so many storylines, so we want to highlight the most important.

Pre-The New Jedi Order
  • 4 ABY: The Truce at Bakura (1993)- This novel details the immediate aftermath of the destruction of the Death Star II and the reorganization of the Empire.

  • 9 ABY: The Thrawn Trilogy (1991-1993)- The most famous series of post-ROTJ novels introduced Luke Skywalker’s love interest Mara Jade Skywalker and the villainous Imperial Commander Grand Admiral Thrawn, who would later become a part of canon in Rebels.

  • 10 ABY: Dark Empire (1991) and Dark Empire II (1995)- The comic book series introduced Palptaine’s Clone long before The Rise of Skywalker, and briefly featured Luke Skywalker’s turn to the dark side.

  • 11 ABY: Crimson Empire (1998) and Crimson Empire II: Council of Blood (1999)- These comic sagas detailed the uprising of Palptaine’s Red Guard as a threat to the New Republic.

  • 11 ABY: The Jedi Academy Trilogy (1994)- In this novel trilogy, Luke finally begins taking steps towards rebuilding the Jedi Order by establishing a new Academy on Yavin 4.

  • 19 ABY: The Hand of Thrawn Duology (1997-98)- Timothy Zahn’s novels Specter of the Past and Vision of the Future detailed Luke’s marriage to Mara Jade and the surrender of the remaining Imperial forces to the New Republic.

  • 22 ABY: The Junior Jedi Knights (1995-97)- These six children's novels starred an 11-year-old Anakin Solo as he trained as a Jedi at Luke Skywalker’s Jedi Academy on Yavin.

  • 23-24 ABY: The Young Jedi Knights (1995-98)- These fourteen YA novels starred Jacen and Jaina as they trained among a new generation of Luke’s Jedi and faced off against a few remaining Imperial forces and an alliance of aliens that banded together to destroy humans within the New Republic.

The New Jedi Order (25-29 ABY)

Post-The New Jedi Order
  • 35-36 ABY: The Dark Nest Trilogy (2005)- Jacen and Jainas’ old Jedi classmate Raynar Thul (a snobby, Draco Malfoy-esque character) becomes the leader of the hive-minded Dark Nest and initiated a conflict known as “the Swarm War.”

  • 41 ABY: Legacy of the Force (2006-08)- This nine-part novel series proved to be the most ambitious storyline since The New Jedi Order. It chronicles Jacen Solo’s turn to the dark side, including his training under Palptaine’s protege Lumiya, his murder of Mara Jade Skywalker, the birth of his daughter Allana, his transition into the Sith Lord Darth Caedus, and his subsequent death at the hands of his sister Jaina.

  • 43-44 ABY: Fate of the Jedi (2009-12)- In another nine part book series, rising tensions within the newly formed Galactic Alliance force Luke Skywalker and his son Ben to leave Coruscant in search of mythic artifacts that pertain to the history of the Jedi and Sith.

  • 137-139 ABY: Legacy (2006-13) We covered this comic book series which explores a future where the One Sith legion under Darth Krayt massacres the Jedi Order, forcing Luke’s descendant Cade Skywalker to become a bounty hunter and gradually learn of his destiny as a Jedi.

What do you think, Rebelscum fans? What is your favorite post-ROTJ storyline? How do The New Jedi Order books rank among them for you? If you’re just starting out, do you want to explore any of these Legends stories? Drop us your feedback and as always, may the Force be with you?