SW Posters

G

I have a few old SW posters. This one looks like the oldest. It is by Hildebrandt. Its not in the best of shape, but it looks good in a cheap frame. Anyone know the history on this particular poster. Ill post the others when I get more frames. What do you think of the one? Thanks

G

Thanks Flarida, Ive had this forever. Im no poster pro so Im not up on these things, I just think they look so cool.

Reaction score
I have this one:

But mine looks like some used it for toilet paper. Its cool cause it advertises the trailer for Revenge of the Jedi on the bottom right hand corner of the poster.

I always wanted to get into collecting the posters but it seems very hard not to get ripped off.

Like the Theatrical Episode One posters Lucasfilm sells aren't even theatrical because its one sided and the newer posters are double sided to look with the light behind them. I don't belive they did this back during the og trilogy.

-Jason W. Ward

Reaction score
>Like the Theatrical Episode One posters Lucasfilm sells aren't even theatrical because its one sided and the newer posters are double sided to look with the light behind them. I don't belive they did this back during the og trilogy.<

I believe both kinds are still used theatrically.

-Vic.

G

Yes I believe both are still used as well... the ds versions seem to be more 'collectible' (i.e. fetch more on the market), but I'm fairly sure both are still used in theaters, so both are considered 'theatrical' posters.

G

I live in Toronto and went to this store that only sells movie posters, anyways I went about 9 months after ESP 1 and wanted to get the poster to match my SW, ESB, ROTJ and the same in special edition. I was told I could only buy ESP 1 in the basic poster size for like $10 or so, and that if I wanted the movie size one (like my other ones) I'd have to pay $95 because George Lucas won't allow reprints of that films poster. Is this right? Has anyone heard of this?

Reaction score