MATCHBOX / HARMONY GOLD: Robotech

Reaction score
I'm suprised to not find a thread already started for these lines of toys for the Robotech universe. Does anyone here collect these figures & vehicles?

Personally, I'm not a huge anime fan, but I have always loved both the Star Blazers and Robotech series since seeing a few of the episodes of each in the 80's. What I did not realize is that there was a line of action figures and related vehicles for Robotech! I had always seen the anime style mech toys and models, but had no idea they had such a neat toy line as the one started with Matchbox and carried on with Harmony Gold.

I'm just getting started into collecting this line. The prices seem very reasonable and the quality of the toys seems very high. I love the figure card designs as well.

Leif

Reaction score
I can't recall the page I found that showed all of the variations in this line, but it was interesting.

Minmei was only released on the Harmony Gold card, and the Micronian Miria had a different body on that card as well. I happened to get both of those fairly reasonably priced, as you say Leif.

Reaction score
I currently have most of the Matchbox/Harmony Gold set getting loose graded at AFA. Most of the pieces are fairly easy to find... Lunk by far was the toughest piece to acquire... as he had limited distribution. I purchased my Lunk for $25 MOC... most online vendors were asking between $75 - $125. Geez...

Background info on both Harmony Gold and Matchbox can be found at Robotech Museum.

I am short 'Corg' and the Zentraedi size 'Miriya' to complete my set. Anyone?

Reaction score
Im a big collector of Robotech and still need a few more pieces of minor issue for my collection. Lunk was only produced in Canada sadly and his prices tend to bounce around. I have seen as low as $25 once in awhile, usually see $50+ and at times seen $150 for a Lunk. These are final prices that did sell.