Authenticating Harrison Ford

Reaction score
OK, so I've received a PM or 6 and at least that many emails in the last day or 2 asking who I am and how I go about authenticating Harrison Ford autographs .... so here ya go.

Bendu is just a username based on a phrase from the old Journal of the Whills Star Wars script. My name is Pete Chuka and I've been collecting autographs since 1979. Star Wars autograph collectors have known me for years, long before the internet and before this great message board we all live at. My knowledge in this field was enough that other collectors and SW associations have asked me to be present on SW autograph panels at conventions more than once. I wanted to post this to be crystal clear about who I am and what I do know. Hopefully this information will help you to move to a point where I am no longer needed.

A few major things I have noticed after years of watching Harrison sign and keeping scans of hundreds of Fords signed inperson and in sit down settings.

Everything here is information I have compiled after years of seeing the man sign his name. Keep in mind that all of this information in the wrong hands will only go to help the forgers, so use it wisely and study the good samples you have saved during your time collecting.

On the streets it is "get what you can".....Never are 2 pieces, signed one after another, going to look alike.

In a sit down signing everything flows smoothly, no sharp & choppy ups and downs....no deep valleys between letters, and like a machine one after another they can be so similar it is scary.

Placement....
If Harrison is not angling the photo to sign in a flashlight beam or in a light spot on the image, 95% of the time the signature will be arrow straight, from left to right, not angled upward or tipped. He will in fact turn a photo and sign sideways in order to sign in a straight line.