12" Figure Body Types

Reaction score
12\" Figure Body Types

I've seen the phrase "body type" mentioned here and elswhere on RS. I know that certain companies use certain body types, but I was hoping someone could shed some light on this subject.

What body type is the best?
What body type does SSC use?
What body type does HT use?
Is there actually a difference overall?
Does one have more articulation than another?
How can you repair a SSC body type (the arms on a couple of my SSC SW figure seem loose)?

Thank you for you help. I'm still new to the 12" figure arena and have just started picking up the SSC SW stuff about three months ago and have just six figures. Hoping to learn more so maybe I can improve some of mine or make custom figures. Plus, I just pre-ordered Bank Robber Joker and I wonder how he'll measure up to the SSC stuff.

Reaction score
Re: 12\" Figure Body Types

Well, my knowledge is pretty much only limited to SSC and Hot Toys (although I know some other bodies, I only know them from pictures).

SSC still mostly uses their 'Buck' body, although they developed a new body together with Hot Toys, the 'Prometheus'. Comparison pics can be seen here: http://www.sideshowtoy.com/?p=4373
Overall I really don't like the body, it doesn't look very natural when posed (although it is possible, when you take your time), and the articulation isn't that good.

Hot Toys' body is called the 'TrueType', which has better articulation, and can be posed a lot more natural. They can be bought separately in different skin tones. Pics are here: http://www.hottoys.com.hk/product.php?cat=21
Although the body is great, the shoulders are a bit too broad. For superheroes it works great, but depending on the character it may look off. Of course the look also depends on the clothes and/or armor the fig is wearing.

I've got some comparison pics I made when I modded my SSC Darth Maul (I put him on a truetype), I'll upload and post them when I find the right ones.