Thread: Do KENNER Sculpters of the 80's still Sculpt today ?

Do KENNER Sculpters of the 80\'s still Sculpt today ?

Hi.
    I was wondering if the KENNER Sculpters that bought us the Starwars figures back in the late 70's and 80's still sculpt today ? Just out of curiosity [IMG]images/icons/smile.gif[/IMG]

Thanks in advance. Ricky UK

Re: Do KENNER Sculpters of the 80\'s still Sculpt today ?

Rick

Granted I am no expert on the matter, but I have interviewed some sculptors who did work on the vintage line. Two to be exact. I am still working on getting these completed, but anyhoo, both of them are still sculpting for various action figure lines. I would imagine that some of the younger sculptors who sculpted for the vintage are still sculpting to this day.

Really good question! If I may add my own that would be great. Does anybody on this forum know if Kenner tended to employ freelance sculptors, or did they employ sculptors who sculpted for them exclusively? The two sculptors who I have talked with were freelance, but I wasn't doing the article regarding Star Wars, so I did not ask. Maybe I should contact one of them again. ;^)
    Go Green
    Go White
    Looking for Droids and Ewoks prototypes and proofs.

Originally posted by Mike Adams:
    The two sculptors who I have talked with were freelance, but I wasn't doing the article regarding Star Wars, so I did not ask. Maybe I should contact one of them again. ;^)
    <font size="2" face="arial">Mike,

What was/is the article for if not SW?

Also, since you are a SW fan why didn't it occur to you to ask some SW questions? LOL I'd love to hear what a sculptor had to say and any old pics he had laying around, or stories to share, would make the article well worth the read. [IMG]images/icons/smile.gif[/IMG]

John
    and time will be, the catalyst to weed out the weak and beget strength-of character
    -Shai Hulud
    http://theswca.com/
    southside_201 at yahoo dot com My PMs are full so please don't use.