Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 3D Printing: Tutorials, Tips and questions.

Smile 3D Printing: Tutorials, Tips and questions.

3D printing is quickly becoming a game changer for both creating customs and dioramas.
    I thought it would be helpful to have a dedicated thread to showcase the possibilities and have Q&As regarding it.

I'm a novice at it but I am lucky that my library has a Luzbot 3D Printer which is free to use and only costs $0.10/Gram.
    One can buy files to print, create their own, or go to places like Thingiverse.
    I'm on there, also under the name Utinniii.

Here was my first successful print.

Until one gets the hang of it, it is probably better to print one item at at time since if one goes wrong, ALL of them get aborted.

It is also good to watch, until you know enough. Otherwise you are wasting filament.

This is a great idea. So at your library, do they have someone there to help you with the printing, or do they basically turn you loose? For the models that don't come out right, they still make you pay for the filament, though?

Here's a link to a troubleshooting guide that has been pretty helpful to me:

https://all3dp.com/1/common-3d-print...rinter-issues/

I own a Hictop Creality CR-10 because it has a huge build area (11 inches width and length and 15 inch height) and is considered a really good all-around printer for its price range (got mine on amazon for around $440). I joined the CR-10 user group on facebook, and you can get some really good info there, but they don't like it when you ask basic questions like how to level the bed, etc.

I've found youtube to be the most helpful source for most troubleshooting issues. This guy has some pretty good tutorials, and in fact I followed his videos to get my printer set up for the first time:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC55...ArS4MV1x9FT9nQ