PDA

View Full Version : Was the VOTC line really THAT great of an idea?...

AdamMc
09-02-2006, 06:47 PM
Just goes to show you....An intentionally vague seller + uneducated/ancy bidders =

http://cgi.ebay.com/Star-Wars-Yoda-Empire-Strikes-Back-ESB-RARE-Kenner-NR_W0QQitemZ250022935072QQihZ015QQcategoryZ751QQrd Z1QQcmdZViewItem

thematrixatenemo
09-02-2006, 07:27 PM
Alright I'll bite. How do you know? I see the sticker that is falling off, but other than that? I'm just getting into vintage stuff, so I want to get educated.

Phil

Blight
09-02-2006, 07:32 PM
erm..the figure isn't vintage.

AdamMc
09-02-2006, 07:39 PM
Several things stick out to me that reveal that this is a VOTC Yoda.

1.) I have never seen a carded vintage Yoda with the robe hanging open...If one DID exist, it would require that the belt was either never put on, or it was erroneously put on UNDER his robe. You could imagine the unlikelihood of either happening.

2.) Look at his legs. The vintage Yoda legs are identifyably separate, and you can typically only see Yoda's ankles and feet, while the VOTC Yoda has a brown cloth covering the legs (making them look like one big brown piece in this photo.)

3.) The shape of Yoda himself. There is a DISTINCT head mold difference between a vintage Yoda and a VOTC Yoda.

4.) The picture is intentionally taken from far away to hide these facts. Check the seller's other auctions. He offers close-up pics of all of his vintage pieces - why not this one?

5.) The seller makes it clear that he will never accept returns or offer refunds under any circumstances. He highly encourages all questions to be asked up front.

6.) The seller describes it as