Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Sizzzler

Thread: Self-deprecation in professional setting

Self-deprecation in professional setting

Looking for some advice here...

I've been doing photography as a hobby for a couple of years now, and I've been presented with the chance to start doing it professionally. Not exclusively, mind you (not as a sole income), but getting work to shoot events, doing my own stuff for art shows, that sort of thing.

When I set up a page (just on Facebook), I just set up something goofy to share my photos without needing to use my personal page since that's, ya know, personal. I was told tonight that I need to rethink the name I set it up with, though, because the humor doesn't come across to everyone.

What I set it up with is "id10t Studio". I served in the Army and "id-10-t" was something we commonly used as a light-hearted insult. I know it's not exclusive to the Army, but that's how I think of it.

Is it too self-deprecating? Too much, is it going to really cause me problems with people who think "well, I might have hired this guy, but...."?

At this point, I'm not married to the name or anything, so I'm just looking for some extra input.

Thanks for reading (if you made it this far).
    You don't have to like it, you just have to do it.
    --Richard Marcinko

Bad Wolf Media - My public photo page

Midshipman

•    
    If I were looking for a photographer that I otherwise knew nothing about, and picture quality was similar between varying studios, I would most likely pass on one whose name was basically "Idiot Studio". If you're looking to make a career out of it, I vote for a change. If you're doing it for mostly fun, keep it if you like it.

^^ Agreed.
    ANH, the best movie ever - ESB, the best SW movie ever
    My feedback

Coz
    High Admiral