Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree24Likes

Thread: Hoth "Playset"

Commander

Hoth "Playset"

So I gave up hope long ago that Hasbro would ever give me the playsets I want. So, I'm trying my hand at crafting my own using a plastic called Instamorph. Smooth-on type stuff was way out of my budget, but this stuff seems fun and I was thinking Hoth would be a nice place to start since its snow/ice texture is forgiving. Also worth noting - I have no real art background and I haven't sculpted anything since I was in 4th grade (I'm now 36).

My goal is to create a playset that would fit on my Hoth shelf, created entirely of plastic (as a real toy would be) - no foam, clay, and as little paint as possible. While I'm certainly going for the spirit of the film, I'm not trying to create a inch-by-inch recreation of the set and shooting exteriors. Instead, I'm trying to create something that would come close to a "toy" (though I'm lacking in action features for now).

Wampa cave on left, large snowfield in the middle, raised bank for Han/Chewie/Probot, a cave entrance, and a little slice of hallway for Han and Leia to argue in.

I haven't really started into any detailing - but plan to implement some black/grey piping and some more ice texture (I continue to try to get my walls to look like Imperial Attack Base, but Instamorph isn't as friendly as clay when it comes to sculpting. Also need to work on making it a bit more extruded (3 dimensional instead of so much "straight wall."

More to come as it evolves...

It's looking good. Glad to see you put it over here in the customs section.
    "Who's more foolish, The Fool, or The Fool who follows him?"

My_Collection & My_Newest_WIP_Dio

3. Thanks from: jrnyfan_nc_rr_com

This looks good, definitely captures the playset vibe. Look forward to seeing where it goes!
    I've got blisters on my fingers!
    Wants: TVC C-3PO, a Sandtrooper and Starkiller
    The Mos Espa Collection Blog
    Flickr Photostream