Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: 75003 A-Wing Starfighter

Quote Originally Posted by minerjem View Post
    I'm still learning the way Lego works. Is $.17/per brick bad? I've been using a $.10/per brick mentality to help me with my purchases. Needless to say, I haven't bought many sets that weren't on sale.
    It depends on the pieces. I'd gladly pay 17 cents a piece for a set of nothing but 32x32 base plates, but if they are all small pieces like in the over-priced advent calenders, I don't even like paying 10 cents a piece.

Weight is a better gauge of value. Think about this example, 1 2x4 brick or 3 2x4 plates stacked. Should the brick be $.10 and the 3 plates $.30, or should they be about the same price?

Having said that, I do still look at the price per piece, after I subtract $3 per minifig when determining a good value. Large molded figs like dinosaurs, Jabba, Wampa, etc complicate things. Thats why the Dino sets and Jabbas Palace feel way over-priced.
    Looking to buy or trade for GI Joe Kreo Cobra army builders. Please PM if you can help me out.

Not sure if it is worth reiterating but:

Malevolence - 1.66 kg (3.66 lbs) for 1092 pieces
    Jabba's Palace - 1.76 kg (3.88 lbs) for 717 pieces
    both $120 retail

Similarly
    X-Wing Fighter - 0.9kg (1.98 lbs) for 560 pieces
    Rancor Pit - 1.04kg (2.29 lbs) for 380 pieces
    both $60 retail

So I agree with the price by weight as a better indicator of whether a set's retail price is justified. Not that I wouldn't wait for a sale in any situation.

EDIT: Though I'm still not sure how they justify the prices on the advent calendars.
    Last edited by Kobayashi; 01-21-2013 at 03:24 PM.
    Product shown in fantasy situation

I bet a large part of the cost of the advent calender is the packaging and bagging 25 different "sets". Plus it's x-mas and most people lose what little common sense they have at that time.