Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Invisible Reseals

Invisible Reseals

A couple of weeks ago I left a post saying that it is possible for carded action figures to be resealed so well that they can escape the scrutiny of experts.

In fact, this happens a lot more than a lot of people realize.

Someone replied to my post saying that it might be possible for reseals to go undetected to the naked eye -- but they would be detected by "real" experts.

Someone also said that he is always able to detect reseals (glue residue, tears, etc..) And, yes, that is obviously true of badly done reseals.

What some people don't seem to realize is that well done reseals are not detected... because they're... well done!!!

I have been collecting for over 20 years -- and, in that time, I've seen a lot -- not the least of which is well done reseals --what I call "invisible reseals" : reseals that DO escape the scrutiny of experts (and, no, I'm not talking about comic shop owners...;-)

I am posting the following for one reason -- and one reason only: to let collectors know that invisible reseals exist -- and NEVER should lack of evidence of tampering ALONE determine authenticity of a figure -- especially variants!

That said -- this is in no way meant to comment on the ESB vinyl cape Jawa (I personaly, cannot comment on that figure - there are pros and cons beyond its seal-although i don't understand why a poster confessing to having resealed it was not taken at all seriously)

Nor is this meant to comment on the expertise of AFA. Invisible reseals fool EVERYBODY!!!

OK. This is what I did --an experiment -- (and I took pictures of every step of the process):

11/05/02:

I selected a figure from my collection - a Palitoy Admiral Ackbar on a lousy card. I chose this figure because I was not attached to it :-) and because there is a distinctive tear where the price tag was removed years ago.