Thread: Has anyone successfully "de-frosted" an AFA encased MOC figure?

Has anyone successfully "de-frosted" an AFA encased MOC figure?

Just got an AFA encased Star Wars carded figure and I see some "frosting" on one leg.
    Totally bummed because I paid full retail value for it and this frosting was not pointed out. But many members here insist that placing the frosted figure in direct sunlight for 30 minutes cures the frosting and it dissipates. My question is:

Has anyone successfully done this trick, specifically...
    Will the additional encasement of the carded figure in an AFA case be problematic? (I worry about it becoming like a greenhouse in there and warping the high graded piece)
    Most of the positive removal by way of sunlight stories does not mention their figures encased in thick acrylic
    Since this frosting was not pointed out, should I not mess with a fix it and pursue less risky refund process?

This is my first attempt at re-starting my vintage star wars collecting in 15 years so I'm pretty green about the modern SW collector ins and outs, any input welcome! Thanks!
    Last edited by MikeMcFive; 10-07-2014 at 11:17 PM.

Is it a later release? I did it once with a POTF Imperial Gunner. It worked but when I checked on it about 12 months later the bubble had started to tint. Could have been a storage issue but I doubt the exposure to sunlight helped.

Just wanted to add... did the frosting not show up on the pics you received before purchasing the item? Contact the seller and see if you can come to an agreement. If they're worth they're salt they will offer a refund.

-Andy
    Last edited by AndyDavies; 10-10-2014 at 04:28 AM.